SCT 35th Annual Meeting (2014)


The 35th Annual Meeting, held May 18 - 21, 2014 at the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel in Philadelphia, PA, fused an engaging conference program with unique networking opportunities among leading researchers and rising stars of the international clinical trials community.

SCT Program Chair Chris Coffey and the 2014 Program Committee organized a dynamic set of invited and contributed sessions, along with topic contributed sessions, a new feature where highly scored and like-themed abstracts were grouped together and speakers had 20 minutes instead of the usual 15 minutes to allow greater depth of presentation. Thirteen pre-conference workshops offered attendees valuable educational opportunities in diverse areas of clinical trials research and practice. Many thanks to the 2014 Education Committee led by Stan Shapiro and Paul Wakim.

SCT is very grateful for the exemplary plenary sessions presented by Dr. Ezekiel J. Emanuel and Dr. Christopher Austin. Dr. Emanuel, a widely published and cited scholar and ethicist, presented the Curtis Meinert Lecture on "Health Care Reform and the Future of Clinical Research." Dr. Austin, Director of the National Center for Advancing Translational Science (NCATS), presented the Founders Lecture on "The National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences: Catalyzing Translational Innovation."

 SCT Members can download slides and view videos from the 2014 Philadelphia meeting »

View flickr photo slideshow from the 2014 meeting »

Download the 2014 Program Book

Thank you to the 2014 Program Committee for making the 35th Annual Meeting a huge success:

  • Chair: Christopher Coffey
  • Co-Chair: Domenic J. Reda
  • Vladimir Dragalin
  • Valerie Durkalski
  • William E. Elgie
  • Mike Hale
  • Gordon Hughes
  • James Kaufman
  • Marianne Kearney
  • Beverly Koski
  • Ellen Long
  • Leslie Ain McClure
  • William J. Meurer
  • Oscar Moreno
  • Kristine M. Nelson
  • Vlado Perkovic
  • Paul A. Thompson
  • Marc Walton

Thank you to the 2014 Education Committee for making the 35th Annual Meeting a huge success:
  • Chair: Stan Shapiro
  • Co-Chair: Paul Wakim
  • Kousick Biswas
  • Li Chen
  • Suzanne Firrell
  • Virginia J. Howard
  • Tassos Kyriakides
  • Oscar Moreno
  • Wendy R. Parulekar
  • Domenic J. Reda
  • Yves D. Rosenberg
  • Emily Van Meter

Thank you to the 2014 Corporate Sponsors for supporting the Society for Clinical Trials:

  • Amgen
  • Janssen Research & Development
  • Merck & Co.
  • Statistics Collaborative, Inc.
  • The EMMES Corporation

Thank you to the 2014 Exhibitors for supporting the 35th Annual Meeting:
  • CRC Press
  • Medidata Solutions
  • National Institute for Child Health & Human Development (NIH/NICHD)
  • OpenClinica
  • OTB Solutions
  • SAGE


SCT Newsletter

SCT Newsletter Current Issue (vol 26,1):
President's Corner, Workshops, Seminars, Committee Updates, Webinars, Annual Meeting Promotion, Upcoming Events and more...
  Download Spring 2015 Issue »

Trial of the Year Award

SCT Trial of the Year Award 8th Annual Award (2015)
“Mechanical versus Manual Chest Compression for Out-of-Hospital Cardiac Arrest (PARAMEDIC)” named as this year's recipient.
Read More »

SCT Brochure

SCT Newsletter Society for Clinical Trials
An international professional organization dedicated to the theory and practice of clinical trials.
 Download Brochure »